south dakota cna training

North Dakota CNA Training

North Dakota CNA Training: In North Dakota, aspiring Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs) are required to complete a state-approved training program. The state mandates a minimum of 75 hours of training, which includes both classroom instruction and clinical practice. North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS) offers a pathway for individuals interested in pursuing a career in healthcare, beginning with Pre-CNA, progressing to CNA training and testing, and further advancing to credit programs in healthcare​1​.

Education Requirements: The specific educational prerequisites for enrolling in a CNA program in North Dakota may vary depending on the training provider. It’s advisable for individuals to contact training providers directly to understand their specific requirements.

Training Curriculum: The training curriculum for CNAs in North Dakota is meticulously designed to equip candidates with the requisite skills and knowledge essential for effective patient care. NDSCS provides a course titled “Healthcare/CNA Basics” for individuals who are unemployed, underemployed, or new Americans seeking a career as a Certified Nursing Assistant. This course emphasizes vocabulary and healthcare concepts, and upon completion, students can advance to the CNA training program​2​.

North Dakota CNA Examination: After completing the training, candidates are required to pass a competency evaluation to validate their skills and knowledge. The competency evaluation comprises both a written and skills test.


How to Become a CNA in North Dakota

Complete Training
Enroll in and complete a state-approved CNA training program to acquire the necessary skills and knowledge.

Pass Competency Exam
Successfully pass the competency exam that evaluates the skills and knowledge you gained during your training.

Background Check
Complete a state-mandated background check to ensure you meet the requirements for employment in healthcare settings.

CNA Certification
After passing the exam and background check, apply to receive your official CNA certification, confirming your qualifications to work in the field.

Register on the North Dakota CNA Registry
Once certified, ensure your name is added to the state CNA registry, a crucial step for official recognition and employment eligibility.

Get Hired as a CNA
Upon certification, begin your job search to find CNA positions in healthcare settings, solidifying your role as a CNA.

North Dakota CNA Registry:

The North Dakota Nurse Aide Registry is a repository of information about individuals who are qualified as Certified Nurse Aides (CNAs) in the state. It ensures that CNAs meet the necessary state and federal standards to work in healthcare settings. The registry is a key resource for confirming the credentials and training of nurse aides, contributing to the quality of care in North Dakota’s healthcare facilities.

North Dakota CNA Training Programs

Barnes CountySMP Health – St Raphael979 Central Avenue N, Valley City, ND 58072(701) 845-8222 
Bottineau CountySanford Health Nursing Assistant Program-North725 E 10th St, Bottineau, ND 58318(712) 898-1176 
Bowman CountySouthwest Healthcare Services802 2nd St NW, Bowman, ND 58623(701) 523-5555 
Burleigh CountyBismarck Public Schools1221 College Drive, Bismarck, ND 58501(701) 323-4340 
Burleigh CountyBismarck State College1500 Edwards Ave, Bismarck, ND 58501(701) 224-5600 
Burleigh CountySanford Health Nursing Assistant Program-Central300 N Seventh St, Bismarck, ND 58501(712) 898-1176 
Cass CountyND State College Of Science1305 19th Ave N, Fargo, ND 58102(701) 231-6900 
Cass CountyBethany On University201 South University Dr, Fargo, ND 58103(701) 239-3523 
Cass CountyFaith Homecare Professionals304 25th St S, Fargo, ND 58103(916) 230-2482 
Cavalier CountyNortheast Tri-County CNA Program1116 9th Ave, Langdon, ND 58249(701) 256-2987 
Dickey CountySanford Health Nursing Assistant Program-East213 N 9th St, Oakes, ND 58474(712) 898-1176 
Grand Forks CountyGrand Forks Public Schools2400 47th Ave S, Grand Forks, ND 58201(701) 746-2407 
Grand Forks CountyValley Senior Living on 42nd4000 24th Avenue South, Grand Forks, ND 58201(701) 787-7831 
Grand Forks CountyValley Senior Living on Columbia2900 14th Ave South, Grand Forks, ND 58201(701) 787-7952 
Grant CountyJacobson Memorial Hospital Care Center600 East St North, Elgin, ND 58533(701) 584-2792 
LaMoure CountySt Rose Care Center315 1st St SE, La Moure, ND 58458(701) 883-5363 
Logan CountyNapoleon Care Center311 E 4th St, Napoleon, ND 58561(701) 754-2381 
Mercer CountyKnife River Care Center118 22nd St NE, Beulah, ND 58523(701) 873-4322 
Morton CountyMarian Manor Healthcare Center604 Ash Ave East, Glen Ullin, ND 58631(701) 348-3107 
Morton CountyDakota Travel Nurse Inc1200 Collins Ave, Mandan, ND 58554(701) 667-2884 
Mountrail CountyNueta Hidatsa Sahnish College220 College Drive, New Town, ND 58763(701) 627-8089 
Mountrail CountyGiving Hearts Home Care LLCPO Box 371, Stanley, ND 58784(701) 313-0229 
Pembina CountyNortheast Tri-County CNA Program Cavalier804 Main St West, Cavalier, ND 58220(701) 265-8453 
Pembina CountyNortheast Tri-County CNA Program500 Delano Avenue, Walhalla, ND 58282(701) 549-3831 
Ramsey CountyLake Region State College1801 College Drive N, Devils Lake, ND 58301(701) 662-1578 
Ransom CountyNorth Dakota Veterans Home1600 Veteran’s Drive, Lisbon, ND 58054(701) 683-6517 
Ransom CountyParkside Lutheran Home501 3rd Ave W, Lisbon, ND 58054(701) 683-5239 
Richland CountySt Gerard’s Community of Care613 1st Avenue SW, Hankinson, ND 58041(701) 242-7891 
Stark CountySt Benedict’s Health Center851 4th Avenue East, Dickinson, ND 58601(701) 456-7242 
Stark CountySt Luke’s Home242 West 10th St, Dickinson, ND 58601(701) 483-5000 
Stark CountyDickinson State University291 Campus Drive, Dickinson, ND 58601(701) 502-4258 
Stutsman CountyNorth Dakota State Hospital2605 Circle Drive, Jamestown, ND 58401(701) 253-3210 
Towner CountyTowner County Living Center701 11th St, Cando, ND 58324(701) 968-2600 
Traill CountyTraill-Steele Affordable Rural Coalition for Health330 3rd St NE, Mayville, ND 58257(701) 430-0866 
Walsh CountyNorth Valley Career & Technology Center1540 School Road, Grafton, ND 58237(701) 352-3705 
Ward CountyTrinity Homes305 8th Avenue NE, Minot, ND 58701(701) 857-5800 
Ward CountyBurdick Job Corps Center1500 University Ave West, Minot, ND 58703(701) 857-9607 
Ward CountyMagic City Campus1100 11th Avenue SW, Minot, ND 58701(701) 857-4526 
Ward CountyAdult Learning Center1609 4th Ave NW, Minot, ND 58703(701) 857-4488 
Wells CountySMP Health – St Aloisius325 Brewster St E, Harvey, ND 58341(701) 324-4651 
Williams CountyWilliston State College – Online1410 University Ave, Williston, ND 58802(701) 572-2835
Scroll to Top